I Want to Look Like Her

Standard

Earlier this week, I went along with a group of Christians in Hamilton to visit several ladies who reside in assisted living centers there. I could not take my eyes off one woman in particular. Her name is Bobbie.

photo (3)She was beautiful. Her face was wreathed in smiles. She was so happy to see each person who walked into the room. She sat smiling, with her eyes closed, listening and joining in with the songs we sang.

I don’t know any of Bobbie’s history or circumstances. From what I could see, she had few earthly possessions. She was bound to her wheelchair. Her clothes were plain and her surroundings, though comfortable, were spare.

And in the few moments that we were there, I felt my eyes sting and my heart twist.

Because some women *my age* tend to be absorbed in keeping the wrinkles at bay and washing the grey out of our hair. We examine ourselves critically in the mirror to see signs of aging and fading. We spend a lot of money on creams and sprays and potions. We rue those extra pounds. And we look at Brooke Shields and Jane Seymour and wonder how they manage to look so timeless.

But Bobbie exemplifies beauty, to me. She knows the joy of the Lord. She loves His people. His people love her. Her physical appearance may not be the world’s icon of beauty, but the Lord’s idea is different. “…The Lord sees not as man sees: man looks on the outward appearance, but the Lord looks on the heart.” (1 Samuel 16:7)

I want to look like her when I grow up.

2 responses »

  1. That was just beautiful…and yes we tend to focus on the outward appearance and worry very little about what our insides say about us! Thank You for posting this I’ll try and do better on my insides and quit worrying about my grey hair and make-up.
    God Bless this sweet lady and you for bringing it to my attention.

Leave a Reply

