Conversations With Yourself

Standard

At 5’3″ and 231 pounds, I was classified as “morbidly obese”. Whether or not I agree with that label is another story. But according to all the professionals, there it was in black and white, a body mass index of 40.9%.

Over the 25 years I spent being overweight (which I still am, by the way – according to the professionals) I often wished I could *see myself* at a healthier weight. Every new year I’d think “well, if I start in January and lose 8 pounds per month, I could be thin by Thanksgiving!” And then I’d fail to follow through, and Thanksgiving would roll around, and I’d still be hefty because all I did was THINK about it, and again I’d be ashamed of my lack of self-discipline.

There’s something about this commercial that really speaks to my heart.

I don’t know anything about Medifast. But personally, I think it’s good motivation to “visualize yourself” where you’d like to be. And in this commercial, in the two tearfully spoken words: “Good job!” – I sense her embarrassment over her current shape, her desire to accomplish her goal, her doubt over her ability to gain control, her hope that this time she’ll follow through, and the pride she knows she’ll feel when she does. Maybe I’m reading more into it than is really there, but I see me in her.

Leave a Reply

