I’ll Have Two Number Ones, Please

Standard

Chick-Fil-A fried chicken sandwich with waffle fries (plus two packets of Honey Roasted BBQ sauce) and a DP…Pizza Garden’s pepperoni pizza (to go)…Dan’s Hamburger’s hickory burger with curly fries…two bean & cheese tacos and a beef fajita taco from Taco Cabana…Golden Chick’s #1 (4 tenders, fries and a hot, buttery yeast roll) and sweet tea…SLURP: my former fast food favorites.

ChickfilA-Waffle-Potato-Fries

One of the toughest things for me has been changing the way I eat when I’m not home. At home, I feel more in control of my portion sizes and I know exactly what goes into what I’m eating. I can weigh the food and calculate points and generally feel confident that I’m not eating hidden calories. Away from home is a different story.

We had a potluck after worship today, and those are always danger zones for me. (My brother is highly suspicious of potluck food, too, but his fear is less about calories and more about food poisoning.) 😉  Typically everyone makes their favorite dish with two sticks of butter and a hearty dose of cheese on top…and then there is the smorgasbord of Paula Deen’s orange brownies and my mother-in-law’s banana pudding just begging to be eaten.

SO, I’ve had to make some changes. We don’t eat much fast food anymore. If I’m out, I like to get a Grilled Chicken Caesar salad from La Madeleine (dressing on the side, and take home the leftover dressing!) Mama Fu’s and similar places will make accommodations for you and cook without oil. Sandwich places are better than hamburger places – even though there are still carbs in the bread. Panera Bread has vegetable and chicken broth soups (cream soups are usually high in calories/points) and a lot of good choices. Italian restaurants are difficult, but a simple spaghetti & meat sauce isn’t a terrible choice, especially if you only eat half and take the rest home. And Chick-Fil-A has a great Southwest grilled chicken salad – it has lots of crunch and color and flavor!

As for potlucks….well, you might just have to bring your own food. 🙂

I’m interested in knowing what YOU GUYS have done to change the way you eat away from home. Any tips?

4 responses »

  1. Pot lucks are not countable I don’t sweat them and do my best to make up the difference in the week to come. As far as restaurants I try hard to make my food choices fit my calorie budget but you are right Carla it is much harder. Order smaller buns, no oil or butter either. No cheese or mayo. Dressings always on the side.

Leave a Reply

