Hobbits Shouldn’t Take Shortcuts, and Neither Should I

Standard

the-hobbit-poster (1)

“There were many paths that led up into those mountains, and many passes over them. But most of the paths were cheats and deceptions and led nowhere or to bad ends; and most of the passes were infested by evil things and dreadful dangers. The dwarves and the hobbit, helped by the wise advice of Elrond and the knowledge and memory of Gandalf, took the right road to the right pass.” J.R.R. Tolkien

I’ve been reading The Hobbit while puffing away on the elliptical machine, making it a much more enjoyable experience. Confession: I’ve never read any of the Lord of the Rings books (Gasp! And for that matter, I’ve ALSO never read any Jane Austen!)

Now that I’ve lost all of your respect, let me move on.

Those few sentences made me stop (not really, I kept puffing away…) and think. There are so many life applications! Here is one: there are a lot of ways to lose a few pounds. Jenny Craig, Weight Watchers, Atkins, HCG,  and Gastric Bypass to name just a few.

(Remember Richard Simmons’s Deal-A-Meal? and Susan Powter?)

I don’t want to be a snob, but I really do believe that there is no shortcut: no easy, quick, painless way to lose weight and keep it off.  Some of the methods you hear about really are just cheats and deceptions. Some are even dangerous. I think it’s smart to have wise advice and knowledge from people who know what they’re talking about.

And a much more important application. There are many man-made “paths” and “passes” in the religious world. They are cheats, deceptive, evil and dreadful.  Jesus said “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” (John 8:12) He also said “I am the door. If anyone enters by me, he will be saved and will go in and out and find pasture.” (John 10:9) And, He said “I am the way, and the truth, and the life.  No one comes to the Father except through me.” (John 14:6)

No shortcuts for me. I want to take the right road to the right pass – I want to follow the One who knows what He’s talking about.

Food log today: 1/2 cup cottage cheese, 10 almonds for breakfast. I ran out of ham AND Pam, so my egg stuck to the pan. 😦 We had lunch at Mama Fu’s – I had about 1/4 cup of egg drop soup, 2 steamed potstickers, and 1/2 of my chicken broccoli plate. Supper was a big spinach salad with 2 tsp sunflower seeds and 2 tsp Olive Garden dressing, 2 ounces of yesterday’s leftover meatloaf, and some pita chips and hummus. And I had a teaspoon of peanut butter when we got home from the gym. 🙂

2 responses »

  1. I’ve never read any of those literary works either. So, don’t be hard on yourself! =) You are to be commended for your bravery by ‘putting it all out there for all to see’. Keep up all your hard work! I also need to be doing what you’re doing–but don’t really know how to do so properly. I am addicted to sugar. BUT I have asked Santa for a bike for Christmas! Then I can ride the streets of our new neighborhood with Rig (in alphabetical order–which takes longer)!

    • Oh, I’m not really being hard on myself, just teasing. And that totally cracks me up about Rig wanting to ride the streets in alphabetical order – you can exercise your brain AND your body at the same time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

