Step Away From the Bakery!

Standard

When the boys were little and I had to take them into a store with valuables and breakables (like Kirklands) (and that reminds me, why did I want to take them into a store like that, anyway?) I would have them put their hands in their pockets, and keep them there, the WHOLE time we were in the store. Today, John and I had lunch at La Madeleine and then went into Central Market. I felt like I needed to put my hands in my pockets and keep them there, the whole time.

Here are a few of the things I spied and coveted today: Cheesecake. Quiche Florentine. Potato soup (COVERED in bacon, cheese, and croutons.) Chocolate torte. Chocolate covered gummy bears (I know, I know, I’m too old for those.) Apple scones. Plain scones. Balsamic soaked strawberry muffins. Sesame Seed bagels.

And these.

photo (57)

I’m a sucker for anything from Popcorn, Indiana. They make plain old Kettlecorn, Cinnamon Sugar Kettlecorn, Cocoa Corn, and these: Drizzled Black & White Kettlecorn and Dark Fudge Chocolate Chip Kettlecorn. I actually think a beam of sunlight from heaven pierced the ceiling and pointed me straight to these. It’s kind of pathetic that of all the delicacies in Central Market – the ultimate foodie’s smorgasbord extravaganza – I was attracted to this Kettlecorn the most.

But, I’ve learned (the hard way) that anything from Popcorn, Indiana is a trigger food for me. As is most everything from the bakery at Central Market and the lunch line at La Madeleine. So I put my hands in my pockets and walked away. When I got home I had my two gummy vitamins instead of Drizzled Black & White Kettlecorn AND felt pretty good about keeping my hands in my pockets. 😉

Food log today: 1/2 cup cottage cheese and 1/4 cup shredded potato (weird breakfast, I know…but I was making a hash brown omelette for Micah.) Lunch consisted of a regular sized La Madeleine grilled chicken caesar salad (dressing on the side), 2 little slices of multigrain bread. Snack – a handful of buffalo pretzel chips. Dinner: 1 1/2 homemade corn tortillas, 3 oz skinless rotisserie chicken breast, 2 tbsp cheese, 2 tbsp hummus.

One response »

Leave a Reply

